Hyundai Venue Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2020 SE, 6 Speed Manual
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been lurking and posting a bit since I bought my Venue in February, and decided to share some of the mods I've done so far. I'll apologize in advance for being a bit short on pictures, but I have a bad habit of neglecting to document my work in process, because I'm usually just focused on getting the job done. That being said, I am more than happy to take additional pics if possible, or answer any questions.

First, here's where I'm coming from: I was big into VW since I was in high school. I had an 87 GTI, and then bought a new 2001 Golf 1.8 Turbo when I graduated from college. I drove it for 20 years (only ~150k miles) before I purchased the Venue.

This past winter, my wife was looking for a new car, which meant I was looking with her. Even though my 01 Golf was mechanically sound (literally everything worked), I knew it wouldn't last forever and I was concerned about being able to find a car with a manual transmission when I eventually did need one. I had already decided that another VW could be a possibility, but after their emissions cheating scandal I wouldn't be married to the brand anymore. When a 2020 Venue with ~9k miles on it showed up, I bought it.

More to come....

·
Registered
2020 SE, 6 Speed Manual
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
OK - The first "mod" was to replace the factory speakers. I'm not someone who needs a big boomin' system w/ massive subwoofers, but I also don't like to my music to sound like it's coming out of an old clock radio. I had some Polk speakers in my GTI back in the day that sounded great, so I installed 4 Polk DB652 speakers in all 4 doors. I chose these because they were the only coaxial Polk 6.5 speaker that was available on Crutchfield, and since I have a Venue SE I don't have the separate tweeters up front.

PXL_20210628_213331557.jpg

·
Registered
2020 SE, 6 Speed Manual
32 Posts