Hyundai Venue Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Ceramic White SE, iVT(CVT)
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am a retired machinist down here in sunny Florida who likes tiny, simple vehicles with small motors. Last month my 9.5 year old Honda Fit Sport's wiring harness was chewed up by rodents (more common than you would think) and was going to cost $3,700 to repair! Normally I do a lot of research before buying a new vehicle, but with the Fit's automatic transmission now refusing to shift beyond second gear I was motivated to shop quickly. I had never even ridden in a Hyundai, but I liked what I had seen and read about them, so I stopped at the brand new Hyundai dealership near me. The 19-year-old salesman I drew asked me what kind of vehicle I was looking for and suggested I test drive the Venue.

At first I was apprehensive; It looked much bigger than it actually is, I was looking for a slightly bigger (1.8 to 2.0L) engine and didn't really want a CVT. But once I drove it I really liked it, CVT and all! 99% of my driving is around town, my Fit had an even smaller engine (1.5L) that worked out fine, and the Venue's CVT really impressed me.

I bought my white SE a month ago, and because the sun beats down so harshly on vehicles here in Florida I quickly got the windows tinted and put some Auto Sunshade-type window awnings on it so I can leave the windows down an inch when I run into the store. For me, it's fun to try to see how high MPG numbers I can get, and if the Venue's computer can be trusted my short trips around town (about 15 miles each) easily hit over 40 MPG! I'm 250 miles into my first tank of gas and spent a bit of time idling the car with the A/C running just familiarizing myself with the electronics, and my average for the tank is over 38 MPG! Every day I am liking this little car more and more!

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hi everyone,